Special Day

Today is a very special day for 2 reasons.

The first reason is that it is Noah’s 12th birthday.  He has been excited for this day for over a month now, and has been counting it down.  We will be heading in to Port-au-Prince to do some special things and get some ice cream!  HAPPY BIRTHDAY NOAH!

The second reason today is special is, it was 1 year ago today that our bags were packed, we boarded our flights and arrived in Haiti to serve with Mission of Hope, Haiti.  It was so exciting to begin a new journey with our family.  I had so many emotions that day, excitement, sadness, nervousness, just to name a few.  Excited for what was beginning for us, sad to leave family and friends, and nervous about the unknown.

So much has happened in this past year.  Many buildings have been built, 175 homes for people whose homes were damaged in the earthquake or never had a home, a building to house teams that come down to serve with us, a new office addition for our ever-growing Haitian staff,  8 school rooms that will school over 300 children this fall, a depot for all the sports equipment donated for the orphans to play in the gym, a new 3 Cords building where many amputee ladies work, a new 37,000 square foot warehouse so we can expand our feeding program, a hospital that will be open 24 hours that will open in the Spring.  I hope I’m not forgetting anything.

We are doing well here, and are now moving into our second year of serving.  Many of you may or may not know that in order to serve the people of Haiti, we have to raise our own funds.  While much has been done over the last year, there is still much to do.  In order to keep serving, we need to raise our second year budget.  Would you consider being a monthly partner along with all the other faithful partners we already have?  Together we can continue to make a difference in the lives of the Haitian people.  To become a partner, click the ‘Donate’ link on our page.

2 thoughts on “Special Day

  1. Wow a year already! I too will never forget that day (my birthday too) as much as I want my baby brother & his family only where God wants him (& I do feel strongly its right there in Haiti), it is still so hard to have you all so far away. Emotions….wow you put it so well……I am so thankful that you are right where God wants you & that threw all of you I am gaining a love for the Haitian people also. I will be praying for new supporters for your mission, so many are touched buy supporting your mission but what many don’t realize is …..the supporter is also very blessed ……in so many way!! Well at the hospital with Monica so more later. Love your big sister…lol Really…I love u all soooo much. Dee

  2. Hi John and Mary, I am so happy to see how well you are all doing,,, I just wanted to say Hello and tell you I love my house and what a blessing it was to work with you before yoyu moved. I am adding my email as I have a question for you John… take care and hope to hear from you soon,, Clara

Leave a Reply

